PDA

View Full Version : Setting Rates


4est
09-15-2007, 08:58 AM
Bleh... 90% of the players set the updaterate too high.

Use

net_graph "1"
net_graphpos "2"

Then experiment to get the best settings. Watch the graph lines for the best STABLE ping.

On DSL I'm using: (now on cable)

cl_cmdrate "100"
cl_updaterate "45"

rate "20000"
I picked up this rate setting from hltoolz. Many ppl use rate "9999".

To be honest, I have forgotten what the net_graph "1" lines specifically represent. IN A PERFECT WORLD, the lines would be solid and flat without any spikes or breaks. You want to tweak your settings using net graph one. It does help.

For a starting point, enter a game and use:

cl_cmdrate "100"
cl_updaterate "100"

Then change that to cl_updaterate "20". Twenty is probably not a realistic setting but it will let you see the difference it makes in its graph line and in your PING. Start raising the setting by increments of 5-10 points until the line is as flat/stable as it gets. THEN STOP. A lower cl_updaterate will lower your ping but you don't want to sacrifice quality for speed or vice versa.

Next do the same thing with cl_cmdrate.

Just take your time with it, it's easy to see.

-edit - groovyf, thanks for mention of the net_graphpos 2 command. After having the net_graph centered for years, I totally did not think about it popping up to the side for a new user.

-edit2 from SME -
"Changing rate will affect your Steam setting for your selected internet speed.
For 2M cable 15-20K might be fine but for 10M cable it needs to be 25-30K."

groovyf
09-15-2007, 09:31 AM
Also, set net_graphpos 2 in the console. This will put the net_graph centre-screen and not foul up the ammo area on the left-hand side

Paft
09-15-2007, 10:19 PM
Shouldn't you ideally have cl_cmdrate & cl_updaterate set to what ever you FPS is? These and Rate are the few but most common values I haven't touched before (In TFC).

SME
09-15-2007, 10:27 PM
Changing rate will affect your Steam setting for your selected internet speed.
For 2M cable 15-20K might be fine but for 10M cable it needs to be 25-30K.

cl_cmdrate "100"
cl_updaterate "100"

is fine for 100 tick servers but it can cause choke on 66/33 tick servers.

skuLL
09-16-2007, 12:45 AM
I used 101 on both values on TFC =0
My ping went up a little bit (from 35 to 50) but concing was waaaaay smoother.

GenghisTron
09-17-2007, 10:02 PM
Nice thread, thanks for the guide.